Weight Loss Supplements

fr_238_size880So i figured id make this post to highlight that whilst i do clean eating to help me get to my goal, i also take supplements. Each day i will log & photograph healthy meals & whatever random shit my brain comes up with & upload them at about 8 ‘o’ clock each night so my whole days stuff is in one complete post but the items above are what i take everyday without fail so if i dont mention them, its logged here.

The low down of all the pretty bottles & packets above;

Holland & Barrett Psyllium Husks pill form.

If you’ve read my previous posts then you’ll know i took Protein Worlds Psyllium husks mixed in with slender blends, whilst they did work, the consistency of the husks in a shake made me stomach lurch a bit (Yet i can skin a dead animal without any hesistation, go figure!). I substituted the raw husks with Holland & Barretts pill form. You take 2 pills 30-60mins before food 3 times a day, easy peasy.

Holland & Barrett Raspberry Ketones & Green Coffee Bean.

Raspberry ketones have been widely discussed & debated about if they really do help aid weight loss or if they are simply a placebo. I decided to research Ketones, read both sides of the debates & decided to get them from Holland & Barrett. Theres many many dodgy websites offering raspberry ketones so i thought i’d go with Hollands & barretts instead (I now have a H&B addiction). Im not sure how much weightloss i can put down to them but i can definetly say they help suppress hunger pangs. You simply take one in the morning with breakfast & then one with lunch but DONT take them after 3pm or you will not get to sleep at night due to caffeine content. When i used Protein Worlds ‘Fat Burners’ (See previous posts) & went upto 2 tablets twice a day, my blood pressue shot up & i could hear my heart pounding in my ears & they did make me feel squiffy (Oh so British!). The H&B ketones dont give me any of those side effects.

Holland & Barrett Aloe Vera Colon Clense

With Ehlers Danlos Syndrome, poor digestion comes hand in hand with it. Ask anyone who has EDS & they will agree with me. Due to varying degrees of pain medication, my digestion is pretty bad. So the colon cleanse & Psyllium husks seem to keep my digestion moving whilst my body adjusts to clean eating. The colon cleanse is pretty much what it says on the label without being graphic. Take one before bed.

Protein World Whey Powder – Chocolate Flavour

Protein whilst dieting is highly important & helps with weightloss. I dont really eat home cooked chicken as i find it really dry, plus i was eating roast chicken for sunday dinner & my jaw dislocated whilst mid mouthful & i ended up in A&E getting it put back in so now im scarred for life by roast chicken. So how can i get protein into my diet? I again researched (Yeah, that thing again) whey protein & thought that might make up the bulk of Protein i need in my diet so i went with Protein Worlds chocolate Whey powder & it seems to be doing the job nicely (Can you tell i like Protein World?). On days that i go to the gym, i have a shake 30 minutes after my workout to feed my muscles aswell as reaching my protein goal. Plus if you take whey protein after a workout & you have EDS or any other joint condition like myself, it helps with making me ache less the next day. On the days i dont go to the gym, i have a shake with my breakfast just to kick start my body for the day ahead. I definetly recommend any of Protein Worlds chocolate powder products as the chocolate is lush!

Protein World CLA Powder & L-tyrosine

If you’ve read my previous review of Protein World products then you’ll know i accredit most of my weightloss to PW’s CLA Powder, its like magic powder. When i get up, i make up a large 1.5litre bottle of ‘0% sugar’ orange squash to make sure i drink fluids throughout the day (Its easier to measure it in a large 1.5litre bottle). I dont like the taste of water, that sounds utterly stupid, so i stick to ‘no added sugar’ squash. I mix in one half of a yellow scoop (PW send you yellow scoops with your order) of CLA powder into the squash & a small bit of L-Tyrosine so my body gets a release of CLA all throughout the day & the L-Tyrosine works with the Whey powder.

So all the above products i use on a daily basis with success. The one thing i would stress to use whilst dieting is a website called My Fitness Pal. I bow down to My Fitness Pal for the 10 pounds ive lost since stopping the Slender Blend shakes. With My Fitness Pal, you make a profile (Its completely free) & you pick how much you want to lose a week (It has a maximum of a healthy 2lb weight loss a week), what kind of life style you have, your height, your weight & your goal weight. It takes all these into account & gives you a set of Targets for Calories, Carbs, Fat, Protein, Sodium & Sugar. All you need to do is input exactly what you eat & drink (Most food items are on their database including British items) throughout the day & it’ll calculate the food items Calories, carbs etc & if you’re within your recommended guideline, above or below whilst giving you a little tagline when you complete your days eating that shows you how much weight you would lose in 5 weeks if you ate the same food you ate that day, everyday. It means you do need to weigh everything you eat & estimate, when i first started using MFP, i sat on my sofa & made the *UUUUGH* noise knowing id have to weigh stuff but now i naturally weigh food items & log them. Oh i should also mention a rather awesome thing the Iphone App version has…. a barcode scanner which you place over the barcode on the food item & it finds it in their database & logs it for you, you can see automatically the health contents of the food (Its awesome to use whilst shopping!).

So that basically is it, the above pictured supplements & My Fitness Pal are the things i continually use for weightloss & still see massive differences every single day.

Right, Lets get on with this bloggersphere weight loss doo-dad thing. I will post later on tonight about food intake & getting my butt kicked at the gym.

Leave a comment